Jands Lighting
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:26 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 sACN or ArtNet 
Author Message
Regular
Regular

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:48 pm
Posts: 88
Location: San Diego, California
Reply with quote
Post sACN or ArtNet
We're looking at setting up a backup solution in our venues and I was thinking of running sACN or ArtNet from the booth to our DMX splitter backstage. Is there a preference?

Thanks

_________________
Daniel Rhodes
Lighting Director
North Coast Church
Vista, California
www.northcoastchurch.com


Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:14 am
Profile WWW
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 754
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: sACN or ArtNet
Depending on what hardware you have I would always choose sACN. It is much cleaner and lighter on the network. ArtNet is an older protocol that floods networks with data.

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:49 am
Profile WWW
Registered
Registered

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:19 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: sACN or ArtNet
jroman wrote:
Depending on what hardware you have I would always choose sACN. It is much cleaner and lighter on the network. ArtNet is an older protocol that floods networks with data.

Good info. So I have an eDMX Pro1 installed and working well as an Artnet node (dedicated PC, Vista 2.xx).On my connect universes page I show the UD512 and the eDMX Pro1 on port 1 and both show connected. If I then add an sACN broadcast via the “add broadcast port” window, it will appear in the DMX connections list, but on port 0 and the “connected” checkbox un-checked. How would I configure the system to utilize sACN vs. Artnet via the eDMX Pro?

Thank you


Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:02 pm
Profile
Registered
Registered

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:19 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: sACN or ArtNet
So here is my connect universes view. With sACN connected and prioritized, and no universe assigned to the eDMX Pro, am I controlling my networked lighting with sACN via the eDMX Pro? Is the software broadcasting both protocols on the network, or just sACN?


Attachments:
224B2CF3-11A6-4C61-8F8C-3FB9B2027CA0.jpeg
224B2CF3-11A6-4C61-8F8C-3FB9B2027CA0.jpeg [ 36.68 KiB | Viewed 257 times ]
Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:45 am
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:48 pm
Posts: 88
Location: San Diego, California
Reply with quote
Post Re: sACN or ArtNet
I think the manual for the eDMX says it'll look like it's sending artnet even if it is sACN. Not sure if there's a way to tell for sure though

_________________
Daniel Rhodes
Lighting Director
North Coast Church
Vista, California
www.northcoastchurch.com


Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:44 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.