Jands Lighting
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:36 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Getting more than 512 channels 
Author Message
Registered
Registered

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:20 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Getting more than 512 channels
Sorry if this is a basic question, I'm trying to do my research on Jands Vista.

My question is, if I'm using the Jands Vista app, how do I get more than 512 channels?

Do I need a second dongle or does one dongle output more than one universe?

I noticed that the product info for the app says it has packs available to output 1024, 2048 or even 4096 DMX Channels, but I didn't know if it required multiple dongles.

Thanks!


Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:31 am
Profile
Major Contributor
Major Contributor

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:33 pm
Posts: 223
Reply with quote
Post Re: Getting more than 512 channels
Currently, Jands only recognizes one dongle at a time (unless there's been a change that i'm not aware of).

It will allow you to use whichever dongle you have across multiple universes as long as the grand total of DMX channels used does not exceed the size of the dongle. For example, if you have a 512 channel dongle, you could use 200 on universe 1, 200 on universe 2 and the balance of 112 on universe 3.

Jands does have a great method of giving you full credit towards your smaller dongle when you upgrade to a larger one.

_________________
Andrew Van Veld
Circle City Audio
Indianapolis/Ft Wayne, IN/USA
T2, S3, S1 available for rentals/demos


Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:17 am
Profile WWW
Registered
Registered

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:20 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Getting more than 512 channels
Oh I see, so there are different size dongles that determine how many channels you have.

Thanks for clarifying!


Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:21 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:09 pm
Posts: 931
Location: Austin, TX
Reply with quote
Post Re: Getting more than 512 channels
In V2.3 you can use multiple dongles attached to other machines running Vista PC on the same network. This would give you a combined channel count.

As stated though, channel count is not tied to universe count. You could use 16 universes each with 16 channels on a 256 channel dongle if you so desired.

_________________
Ben Coleman

Technical Sales Support
Jands/ChromaQ
AC Lighting, Inc


Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:02 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.