Jands Lighting
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:35 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Max Universes 
Author Message
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:27 pm
Posts: 53
Location: india, mumbai
Reply with quote
Post Max Universes
How many universes is the Vista 2 capable to handle. What is it limited to???


regards
Beck

_________________
Beck
S3


Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:37 pm
Profile
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 468
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
There is no specific maximum although it depends on your channel license, which range from 1 to 16 universes. Newer dongles can be stacked to allow more than 16 universes but performance may be limited depending on the processing power of your computer / console.

A good way to expand the processing power and channel count is to add a D1 Processor http://jands.com/vista/vista-d1/ or another console to the network. Each D1 provides an additional 16 universes.

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Fri Jun 17, 2016 2:24 pm
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:27 pm
Posts: 53
Location: india, mumbai
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
Thanks for the info. Also wanted to know, If I get a 16 X 512 = 8192 channels dongle, along with another dongle which is 32 X 512 = 16384 channels. Can I plug them both into the same console and have it as a 24576 channels in total??? So that gives me a total of 48 universes!!!


regards
Beck

_________________
Beck
S3


Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:04 pm
Profile
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 468
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
beck wrote:
If I get a 16 X 512 = 8192 channels dongle, along with another dongle which is 32 X 512 = 16384 channels. Can I plug them both into the same console and have it as a 24576 channels in total???
Only if they are the newer style dongles that allow stacking (also must be used with the new software version). Best to check with your dealer to ensure you get the newer dongle.

Whether the console will be able to process 48 universes properly will depend on the processing power in the console as well as the type of programming you ask of it.

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:14 pm
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:30 am
Posts: 94
Location: Fort Myers Fl
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
and it sounds like your going to need help......lol :D :D :D :D

in which case I travel

_________________
Nick Laing
Lighting Designer / President
Laing Lighting Productions
239.220.7228


Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:51 pm
Profile WWW
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 553
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
Have not seen a maximum limit yet. Robb Jibson is currently out with the biggest channel count I've seen with vista, he's utilizing 1x 8K USB dongle and 2x D1 with Fall Out Boy, for a maximum universe count of 48.

I've done testing with more than this (without the actual fixtures outside of a visualizer) up to 64 universes worth of output without any notable issues.

_________________
Elevation Audiovisual
www.elevationav.com
Taking your event to the next level


Thu Sep 01, 2016 1:18 pm
Profile
Major Contributor
Major Contributor

Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 299
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
Ok so the new dongles can stack...say I have one new and one old dongle. Can this combination be stacked? If not, is there a trade program in place so I can simply trade my old version dongle, for the new? When upgrading you pay the difference between the cost of the universe upgrade, so by that same model, if changing dongles old to new but no channel count change it would be doable for no cost. Correct?

_________________
David Long
Lighting Designer
First Baptist Woodstock, GA

L5, S3, M1 and two S1s


Wed Sep 07, 2016 3:48 am
Profile
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 468
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
Both dongles need to be new dongles to stack on the same machine. (old dongles can still be shared via a network)

There is a nominal fee for trade in of old for new (to cover the service and dongle cost) Best speak to your local dealer for the exact price

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:01 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 553
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Max Universes
theatre4jc wrote:
Ok so the new dongles can stack...say I have one new and one old dongle. Can this combination be stacked?
no
Quote:
If not, is there a trade program in place so I can simply trade my old version dongle, for the new?
yes

Quote:
When upgrading you pay the difference between the cost of the universe upgrade, so by that same model, if changing dongles old to new but no channel count change it would be doable for no cost. Correct?
there is a small charge

also, if you upgrade your dongle, the new one will be one of the stackable ones

_________________
Elevation Audiovisual
www.elevationav.com
Taking your event to the next level


Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:51 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.