Jands Lighting
https://www.jands.com/forum/

Syncing to Timecode
https://www.jands.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=2388
Page 2 of 2

Author:  spendergrass [ Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Syncing to Timecode

Hi, For the sake of completion...

I found a program that can generate LTC WAV files easily. It's called Reaper. http://www.reaper.fm

They have a demo version available for download from their site. The demo can render out LTC WAV files. Obviously the paid version of the software can do much more. Seems like good software.

Author:  bclighting [ Fri Apr 13, 2012 6:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Syncing to Timecode

I'm playing around with Reaper now. While I like that I can generate a SMPTE track, I am having a hell of a time rendering out a simple 3 track file. I've used Sound Forge in the past to do this without a problem but it won't generate timecode. All I want to do is take a standard stereo file, add a third timecode track and dump it out to a 3 track wav. Getting the 3 track wav seems to be the issue. I guess I may have to use Reaper as just the timecode generator and go back to compiling the tracks together in Sound Forge.

Author:  spendergrass [ Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Syncing to Timecode

bclighting wrote:
I'm playing around with Reaper now... All I want to do is take a standard stereo file, add a third timecode track and dump it out to a 3 track wav...


Hi, sorry about your reaper troubles. I just generated 15 timecode files at 15 different hours and haven't opened it since.

How do you playback a 3 track wav file? That sounds very useful. Do you have some sort of external audio interface? Fancy soundcard? What program are you using for playback, QLab?

Thanks,

Author:  bclighting [ Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Syncing to Timecode

I used Qlab, with an audio licensce, to play back the three tracks out of a RME Fireface 800. So yeah, a fancy sound card :lol:

I think I may do just what you did, generate some timecode files and use them in Soundforge.

Author:  applec2400 [ Wed May 09, 2012 2:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Syncing to Timecode

I want to practice using timecode for now. We have Ableton, but what else would I need between it and a T4/2?

Author:  jroman [ Thu May 10, 2012 5:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Syncing to Timecode

All you need is an interface and an XLR to get it to your lighting console. If your lighting board is close to the sound board then you can nicely ask the sound guy to send the SMPTE down his snake and just break off that one line to your vista.

Author:  leife [ Mon May 11, 2015 2:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Syncing to Timecode

Hi.
I found and tried this solution to run vista from qlab via internal timecode.
It worked great.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0K5H690mYjE

//Leif

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/